Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

Discussion Is Over Rated

I was reading my daily Dooce, and could not agree with her more today. Her post got me thinking about how many of us have stopped even trying to have a conversation with our family and friends who are on the conservative and/or the religious right side of things.

I wonder, frequently, why those on the right (religious or just ultra conservative) think it’s okay to bash me over the head with their thoughts and beliefs, to the point of getting very angry when I don’t agree… But they are not okay with a simple suggestion like, “Maybe we should find better energy sources and look into electric cars.”.

A simple statement that is not even about religion or the war (directly) or a deep rooted philosophy. Just a thought about cleaning up some air and making our country a little more self sufficient. This thought quickly spirals to a conversation about one of the following:

1. Illegal Immigration is out of control
2. We’ve turned into a Godless nation and everything is going to hell in a hand basket because nobody is praying and going to church every Sunday.
3. All of the democrats are just a bunch of nut brained liberals who want to take all of my money and don’t care about my safety.

There are more arguments I could list, but I think you get the idea. So, I just stay away from the topic with certain people and call it a day. It’s unfortunate, but it’s the truth for many of us heathens.

September 4, 2008 - Posted by | Leaving Religion, Religious Right | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

