Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

Go to the Dance!

At least this kid is learning at a young age how to step outside the dogma that is part of the Conservative Christian Church.  This scene reminds me of a situation I went through in college.  I was told by my Christian leaders that I could not, under any circumstane leave the Bible Study I was leading, which also meant I was to stay in the dorm that I was trying to leave.  I was stupid enough to comply against my beter judgement.

I look back on that moment as one of the milestones in my deconversion.  I remember thinking long and hard about why I allowed people to dictate what I could and couldn’t do.  I had already started questioning a lot.  This episode was the icing on the cake, and now, over 15 years later, I look back and wish I had done what this kid did.  Exactly what HE wanted to do despite what others were telling him to do.

May 14, 2009 - Posted by | Leaving Religion, Religious Right | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

