Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

Some thoughts around Youth Groups

I will be reading more of Bart Ehrman’s books and enjoyed reading the CNN piece on his latest speaking engagement. Near the bottom of the article are quotes he made about youth groups and the leaders of them. He has this to say, “They’re like cult leaders. They have all the answers.”

I feel the same way. I know people who are Youth Pastors, and what is funny, they act like and seem to be, kids themselves. This seems to be common, and looking back, most of my Youth Group leaders were immature and unable to actually interact like real adults in society. But, they gained an authority over those of us in Youth Group, because they would tell us we needed to confess our sins (i.e. tell them all the juicy gossip in our teenage lives), pray with them and other kids about it… out loud, and that we needed to ask God for forgiveness and that he would show us his will. They would always give their thoughts on it as well… and I even had some leaders who told me that I was absolutely not to do something.

Yes, I stupidly listened… I thought it was a sign from God. All it really was, was a power hungry person who liked to know what other people had going on, telling all of us what to do. In college I worked with a Jr. High group, and the Pastor who had asked people to bring friends so they could be saved… didn’t like the friends people brought. He thought they were from the wrong side of the tracks, were disruptive, and not worth the time. He actively tried to get them to leave the group. He and I had a massive falling out over this, because I pointed out his hypocrisy. It wasn’t too long after this moment in time that I left the church for good.

I had positive moments in my Youth Group, and did make some good friends… but in the end, I’m not a fan of Youth Groups. Especially as an adult… I look at them and wonder how parents are okay leaving their kids with leaders who act like kids themselves, most of the time.

May 18, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Ehrman’s book, “Misquoting Jesus” was one of the final nails in the coffin of my Christian worldview.

    He does have a tendency, especially in his later works, to overstate things, but any Christian experiencing doubts should definitely be exposed to his work.

    Comment by Phrankygee | May 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

