Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

The Only Way? Really?

Ask any devout Christian if their way is the only way, and you will get a resounding, ‘yes!’  I used to say this.  Back when I was narcissistic enough to think that I had found the only way for a person to get to heaven.  The. only. way.  Today, that sounds so selfish and so uneducated, and so… well… so ridiculous.

The world has so many different belief structures, Christianity alone has hundreds, how can one possibly believe that their form of Christianity is the ONLY way?  This was one of the first questions I asked and truly let myself investigate.  It was this investigation that led me to believe that there is not one way, and in fact, there may be no way at all.

The more I studied and talked to people, the more I became convinced that I had been wrong all these years.  That I had been obnoxious and had not even given others the chance to explain their view.  It was all a bit overwhelming, and I felt a strong urge to send an apology to every person I had ever been obnoxious with.

I recently attended a lecture by a top astronomer and physicist in the world.  This lecture only re-enforced the conclusions I had come to.  Not that I really needed this re-enforcement, but it is always good to get it.  I always loved Physics and Astronomy and Biology.  Back in the day, I used to say that all of the vastness and complexity proved God exists.  Now, I say the exact opposite.  Now I say that it proves that the universe is so vast, that it is impossible for me to believe that there is only one way (or any way) to do ANYTHING.  I now point to the universe, and all that we are constantly learning about it, as absolute proof that there is a lot we don’t know.  That I don’t know what I don’t know.

I love that feeling… not knowing.  I used to hate it.  My Christian beliefs allowed me to hide from not knowing.  But now, I embrace it, and have fun with it.  Not knowing… and admitting it, has opened up my mind in so many good ways.  It is thrilling.

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | Leaving Religion, science | ,

5 Comments »

  1. I’m really impressed with your blog. It parallels a lot of my own experience.

    “I always loved Physics and Astronomy and Biology. Back in the day, I used to say that all of the vastness and complexity proved God exists. Now, I say the exact opposite.”

    As a Christian Mechanical Engineering major, I prided myself on my logical approaches to my faith. Little did I know that all of that logic was working within the confines of complete illogic. A framework that had been built by others with lies and half-truths.

    Now, all of my love of science and the natural world manifests itself in a blissful, humble unknowing.

    I love that feeling, as I’ve mentioned in other places. That there’s so much more to discover and that I can’t immediately jump to a conclusion is amazing. No God is truly as mysterious and unknowable as the universe and this world we have and are even able to see and experience.

    Comment by Janus Grayden | June 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for the nice comment! Always nice to hear that I’m not alone with my change in view, especially as it relates to science.

      Comment by leavingreligion | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. I’d say to keep seeking answers and keep asking questions.

    To me, the universe does what it used to do for you. Even if you don’t believe in a deity, per se, there has to be something said for the complex balance of the universe in which we live.

    Comment by Rich | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. You see, it’s not okay to stand on someone’s word that Jesus Christ is the only way to heaven. The thing about Christian churches is that many of them are prideful (Sin?) and want to increase their own church attendance (again, selfish, not selfless). That is why many churches will state “You can only get to heaven if you attend this kind of church” which is simply not true. The Bible is the only solid thing that we can stand on. “Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words will not.” I have argument after argument, but there is no sense in trying to convince anyone of one religion or another.

    Comment by Michie DeBerry | June 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Michie, you state that “The Bible is the only solid thing that we can stand on”. The Bible itself states that Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Light, and no one can come to the Father except through Him. So if we are to stand on the Bible, we accept this as truth. Regardless of what denomination one belongs to, the basic truth of salvation is that it is through Jesus Christ alone.

      Comment by Denise | October 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

