Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

Religion… Ridiculous… Religulous!

I know this movie has now been out for awhile, but I must write about it.  I saw it a few months ago, and seriously… it is not only funny, but thought provoking, and for me, at times, emotional.  Mainly emotional when he spoke to those in the Christian religion… why?  Becuase I used to be one of them, and I remember sounding just as crazy and out there as the people in this movie.  I. really. believed.  I would have said the same things the people in the movie say had I been confronted by Bill Maher when I was kneed deep in it.

Have any of you seen this movie?  Curious what your thoughts are

June 4, 2009 - Posted by | Fun, Leaving Religion | ,

2 Comments »

  1. I’m a fan of Bill Maher. He’s coming to Atlanta in a couple of weeks and I have tickets. Religulous was funny and frustrating and sad to me. Since leaving christianity in the 80s, I progressed through the various stages (of grief?) with the help of therapy, drugs, grad school, books, books, books. I’ve intuitively arrived at my own truth. Yet the one hot button remains for me the christianists of the religious right. I despise what they represent and I do my best to speak out against their hypocrisy. Like you, I actually felt compassion for those in Religulous who seemed to earnestly believe. I can’t judge them because I was one of them and am still surrounded by various family members who are sincere in their beliefs. I am not as adamantly anti-religion as Bill, but I do see him as a voice in the wilderness for the dangerous side of religion. And I applaud him for that.

    On another note, I want to tell you how much I’m enjoying your blog. Just discovered it the other day. If you’re curious about my beliefs (currently!), check out http://www.blog.citymystic.net

    Have a lovely weekend!

    Comment by lragan | June 5, 2009 | Reply

    • Have a great time at the Bill Maher event in Atlanta… should be a good time. I don’t always agree with him, but he hit the nail on the head with this movie.

      Will be checking out your blog today. Thanks for the nice words about mine.

      Comment by leavingreligion | June 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

