Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

Sunday Morning Thoughts

calendar

I used to spend my Sundays getting up at 7AM and spending practically the entire day at church.  This was my schedule:

  • 7AM, get up
  • 8AM, leave the house
  • 8:30AM, attend Sunday Service
  • 9:30AM, break
  • 10:00AM, Sunday School
  • 11:00AM, break
  • 11;30AM, leadership meeting
  • 12:30PM, lunch with leadership group
  • 2:00PM, head home for a break, or hang with church people some more, perhaps even an informal prayer request time
  • 4:30PM, choir practice
  • 5:30PM, night church
  • 6:30PM, break
  • 7:00PM, Sunday night activity with church

Holy crap that’s a lot of stuff to do on what is supposed to be the day of rest.  This schedule was years ago, and yet I can remember it like it was yesterday.  All of it to prove something.  That I was a good Christian, that I was active in the church, that I really had Jesus in my heart and active in my life.

Here is my new Sunday schedule:

  • Get up when I want
  • Enjoy coffee, breakfast and the paper with my husband
  • Go for a walk with the dogs
  • Do whatever the hell I want, all day

I like the new schedule better.  It’s more relaxing, and more real.  No more trying to be the best church goer I could be.  You know what?  I think I actually celebrate the Sabbath more now than I ever did back in my church going days.  Imagine that, it took leaving the church and Christianity to actually have a day of rest.

June 7, 2009 - Posted by | Christianity, Leaving Religion | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. That’s my kind of Sabbath. I just woke up from a 2 hour nap. When I was heavily involved in the worship ministry I would not only give up my entire Sunday or Saturday, but a few weeknights as well.

    Being bombarded with an excessively busy “religious” schedule is not spiritual or fulfilling. It’s a huge waste of precious time.

    Comment by theBEattitude | June 7, 2009 | Reply

    • A two hour nap on a Sunday is the best way to celebrate freedom!

      Oh, and as you referenced above… I’m not even including my old weekday and Saturday schedule. If the church doors were open, I was pretty much there. So glad I gave that up.

      Comment by leavingreligion | June 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

