Leaving Religion – MOVED – www.leavingreligion.com

Finding my own way…

Puppy vs. Jesus

Saw this on BoingBoing Gadgets, thought I should share… this dog’s reaction seems about right.

June 9, 2009 Posted by | Fun, Jesus | Leave a comment

Oh, Newt… You Nut!

300_536018

Latest ramblings from our friend Newt Gingrich are so far from right, they are laughable.  Although, they’re not laughable, becuase this is how many politicians and voters from the religious right feel.  Here is what he said:

“I think this is one of the most critical moments in American history,” Mr. Gingrich said in a speech broadcast live over God TV, an evangelical Web site. “We are living in a period where we are surrounded by paganism.”

As I laid out in detail, this country was NOT founded on Christianity.  It wasn’t, never has been.  Why people must insist on twisting the truth is beyond me.  The forefathers would turn in their grave today if they saw how much religion has infiltrated our Government and laws.  It would sicken them, because this is the very thing they were leaving behind and faught a war to gain freedom from.

June 9, 2009 Posted by | Politics and Religion, Religious Right | , , | Leave a comment

According To The Bible – I May Not Be A Good Wife

I’m a wife, not a mother.  I may never be a mother, by choice.  If I read the Bible, and believe it, I’m nothing more than a maid, and child birthing vessel.  So. Awesome.  It even says it in a way that should feel like a promotion… ‘leader of the home.’  But, then I look closer, and find out that the man is the ‘leader of his wife.’  Even. more. awesomeness.

Am I glad that I never let that viewpoint hold me back.  Even deep in my Christian faith, I didn’t think this could possibly be correct.  Perhaps this was the beginning of my questioning… as I got older, I couldn’t make it line up.  I wanted to go to college, have a career, maybe or maybe not get married, maybe (but probably not) have kids.  I didn’t want any of the things that the Bible said women were put here to do.

Some churches skirt past this topic, but it is all over the Bible, and it is very clear.  If one believes the Bible is perfect, and God’s actual words, then this same person, whether they like it or not, believes what I stated in the first paragraph.

“Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands, as is appropriate for those who belong to the Lord.” – Colossians 3:18

“Encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be dishonored.” – Titus 2:4-5

“get married, bear children, keep house.”- 1 Timothy 5:14

June 9, 2009 Posted by | Christianity, Religious Right, Woman | , , | 3 Comments